The Importance of Breakfast!

Most people seem to know this by now but sometimes I talk to people who just don’t eat breakfast and I’m surprised! Not only is breakfast the MOST important meal of the day (cliche, I know) but it helps rev up your metabolism and helps stave off hunger for the rest of your day. Eating a breakfast high in protein and fiber also helps regulate your blood sugar levels and keeps you from eating high calorie snacks and junk food later on in the day.

What I’ve heard people say:

But I’m not hungry in the morning!

Trying to eat in the morning makes me feel sick!

It’s one less meal I eat if I skip breakfast.

I actually just don’t get hungry until lunch.

If you’re new to breakfast right when you get up, give it a try. I always try to eat within an hour of waking up. Start with something small until your stomach gets used to it. Cottage cheese with fruit, a small bowl of cereal with almond milk, a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter.

When I was a teenager I did the whole I’m-not-gonna-eat-thing and it wasn’t until my Mom MADE me eat breakfast every morning that I started losing weight, feeling amazing, and being in a better mood overall.

Here are some reasons to EAT breakfast:

  • Keeps you from getting super hungry later in the day and helps boost weight loss. Don’t worry about getting up and taking all this time to make eggs, toast, etc. Just EAT something!
  • Not eating breakfast has you running on empty and can put you into starvation mode if you’re not getting enough fuel. Even if you don’t feel famished, your body is and it will find a way to get you to eat that donut if it’s feeling deprived.

So tomorrow when you get up, make sure to fuel your body for the day and keep yourself on track! We all NEED to eat!

One thought on “The Importance of Breakfast!

  1. Pingback: How to Pick Out a Healthy Cereal « sarahdoesfitness

What did you think!?

