7 Small Changes You Can Make that Trigger BIG Results

Whenever we think about taking the steps necessary to a healthier lifestyle it can often feel super daunting.

I’m never going to be able to eat pizza again!

I’ll have to run ELEVENTY miles a day!!

What if this won’t work for me? It probably won’t ::picks up donut::

But that’s not true, AT ALL. Lifestyle changes are about just that, habits that form more habits. A good habit forms and sticks with us just as much as bad one does. THAT should be inspiring. Sure, you will have to work hard and it won’t always be easy but it WILL work. Consistency works and time will go by no matter what. A week ago you might have been thinking the same thing and look, it’s already Thursday again.

I know Jillian Michael’s stresses that you can’t just take the stairs every day and suddenly reach your goals, and she’s totally right. However, one daily change that forms into a habit will easily lead to other daily habits and before you know it, you’ll be reaching for an apple instead of a candy bar out of pure habit without even realizing it.

Here are 5 things you can start doing/changing to get you on your path to success:

  1. Take the stairs. Not only can it be way faster than waiting for the elevator (depending on how many flights there are) but it’s also a great way to start your morning. How many times have you been at a store and wanted to go to one in the same parking lot and DRIVEN over there? COME ON! If there’s an opportunity to walk, do it. Don’t be that guy that drives 50 feet to his mailbox and back.
  2. Replace everyday foods. Replacing whole or 2% milk with unsweetened almond milk can drastically lower your caloric intake, fat, and you’ll get more calcium! I’ve been drinking it for months now and I can hardly taste the difference! Also try applesauce in your oatmeal instead of added sugar, avocado in recipes instead of butter. Whole wheat breads and flours instead of white.
  3. Stop drinking calories. You know those people who stop drinking soda and drop like 20lbs, I wish I could be one of those people, but I’ve never been a soda person. Seriously though, stop drinking excess juice, soda, and alcohol if you can help it. The amount of sodium in all of those things too is ridiculous.
  4. Sit up straight and suck in your tummy. My Mom always told me this growing up, but it’s true. Improving your posture will help you feel more confident, make you look better, and works those stomach muscles.
  5. Look in the mirror at least once every day and tell yourself something you love about your body. If you can do this naked, even better. Get in the habit of loving your body instead of degrading it. If your friend or significant other stood in front of you, would you tear them apart? No! You’d say all the things you love about their body, the things they inspire you to work on, etc. Focus on what you love, what you’re proud of, and the things you aren’t so fond of won’t even matter to you over time. Plus they’ll disappear from all those stairs you’ll be taking! 😉
  6. Drink MORE WATER! I’m seriously tempted to bring in my camelbak backpack and keep the straw in my mouth all day so I drink enough water. I wonder if that could EVER catch on at work…
  7. Get enough sleep! You know when you’re grumpy and hangry how you’re more likely to NOT workout and eat bad foods? Yeah…so go to bed….Netflix will still be there tomorrow, I promise. Bed, do it.
6 thoughts on “7 Small Changes You Can Make that Trigger BIG Results

  1. Great advice! I work in an office that both has a gym INSIDE it and is located within an elite fitness centre complete with full membership to the track, fieldhouse, classes, pool, and top of the line fitness facility… I work with high performance trainers and assist Olympians… I have absolutely no excuse to not take an hour to work out in this incredibly sport focus and motivating work environment. I went for a run today though, and reached for my water as soon as I read your post. 🙂

    Like

What did you think!?

