Benefits of Exercise: How ONE Workout Can Get You Back on Track

OMG! I don’t want to go to the gym!

I feel so faaaat!

I just got home from work and I’m in my yoga pants now and I feel skinny, I deserve a cookie.

I’ll start tomorrow

I’ll start AFTER Halloween….ooo and Thanksgiving, I’ll probably eat lard the entire month of December, too. OK! January 1st, I am gonna be AFTER THIS!

My pants feel tight. Probably because I just washed them….probably on hot, too. That’s it.

My clothes are SHRINKING!

Well I am NOT as fat as that *while watching some extreme obesity show on TLC*

Many of us have had these thoughts, said these things, or heard others make the same excuses. Really, we are just making excuses to stay unhappy. Nachos or whatever you crave may FEEL and taste SOOO GOOD when you are eating it, but what do you feel like afterwards? What about the next day when you have to get back into your work clothes and then get mad at the night self for eating in front of the TV. It’s so easy to make excuses, because old habits are easy to follow.

If people got fat the minute they started eating bad food, many of us would probably eat less of it. Kind of how like in college you thought you’d be the hot shot and take 6 shots of Captain Morgan to “get the party started” and then 20-30 minutes later realized you’re an idiot that’s only friend for the next 6 hours was going to be the toilet. We live in an IMMEDIATE and instant gratification seeking society. Text me back now. I want my fries and a shake in 3 minutes or less. Name a time when you have waited for something, patiently and without complaining. Technology is great in many ways but in others it’s turned us into a demanding and unrealistic society.

Same goes for your health and fitness. Eating healthy may not make you feel AMAZING the minute you’re done with a salad, but it will make you feel better the next day, and the next week, knowing you’ve been nourishing your body and it’s starting to show.

We often don’t want to do things we can’t have immediate effects for. I don’t want to go to the gym right now because right now not moving sounds more appealing. However, I AM going to go because I know that once I get there, once I get moving, and afterwards I’m going to feel more motivated. If you get up and promise yourself to move tonight, do SOMETHING, go on a run, do some aerobics, shoot hoops, lift weights, etc you WILL start to feel more motivated. We have to create this motivation for ourselves. Get some exercise tonight and start back on the path to your health.

The benefits of exercise are simple and obvious but we often need a good reminder:

  • Stress reliever
  • Boosted energy
  • Better sleep
  • Strengthened immune system
  • Improves bone and joint strength
  • Increased self-esteem
  • Increased endurance and stamina
  • Improved mood
  • Happiness – increasing endorphin levels
  • Healthier heart
  • Increased metabolism
  • Feeling stronger
  • Reduces stress/depression
  • Improves brain cells and synapse reactions – makes you sharper and smarter
  • Help your body image. When we workout we feel good and we hold our heads higher

Are you in your workout gear yet? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Benefits of Exercise: How ONE Workout Can Get You Back on Track

  1. A very wise coworker was telling me today that himans are generally very bad long term planners. They only see the pleasure in front of them, not the long term consequences.

    Like

What did you think!?

