Butternut Squash Fall Soup: Under 200 calories per serving

I’ve been feeling under the weather this week but after work today I decided to make myself a healthy hot meal to help soothe my sore throat. A while back my roommate made a similar soup and it was amazing! So I decided to tweak the recipe a bit to make it easier.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash (peeled and cubed)
  • 4 large carrots (chopped – I didn’t peel them)
  • 1 small yellow onion (peeled and sliced)
  • 2 small green apples (or whatever your preference – the sweet balances out the squash)
  • 2-3 cups broth of your choice (I’m actually thinking about just using water or a mixture of water and almond milk next time to keep the sodium level low)
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves

Instructions:

  • Heat a large soup pot to med/high heat and drop just a dab of extra virgin olive oil into the pan
  • Add chopped onion and stir until they brown
  • add in broth (or water/almond milk mixture) and the rest of the chopped veggies

  • mix in nutmeg, cinnamon, and ground cloves
  • stir and bring to a boil
  • cover and let simmer on low/med heat for 15 minutes
  • veggies will shrink and soften
  • add mixture (I did this with about 2 cups at a time) to a blender or food processor and then pour into another pan, serving dishes, or containers for later use. If you’re a non-glamorous chef like myself then it will look something like this:

This would be a great addition to a holiday meal but was super filling by itself. I split the entire recipe into thirds, had 1/3 for dinner and the rest into containers for lunch this week.

It’s also amazing just how LOW calorie (and filling) this dish is. Try it for yourself and let me know what you think and what adjustments you make. I created a nutrition label below 🙂

What did you think!?

