Clean Peanut Butter Cookies

Tis the season for cookies and sweets and a TOUGH time of year to cut out sugar. But I can say that I have been rather successful in this endeavour thanks to creative meal planning. Just because you want to drastically cut sugar out of your diet and lifestyle does not mean you have to give up cookies!!

cookiesfinished

Last night I was craving one of my favorites, peanut butter cookies. I used to make these all the time when I was a kid, spooning up the dough, rolling them in sugar crystals, pressing them into intricate designs with a fork. But last night I knew that there was absolutely no way I could make those without wanting to eat all of the dough and the sugar rush alone would make me feel shaky after nearly 3 weeks of great eating.

So? I decided to experiment with my own recipe. I’ve seen a lot of protein muffins and cookies but I never have protein powder on hand and didn’t want the extra calories that go along with some of those. I just wanted basic ingredients.

Here’s how it went down.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat instant oats
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder (this is optional and didn’t make much of a difference to me, really)

blender

blended

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Place all ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until well mixed. This took some maneuvering to get the peanut butter to mix in well without sticking to the sides of the blender.
  • Spoon onto ungreased baking sheet. This recipe yields 8 cookies
  • Bake 10 minutes

cookiesheet

Cookies will look greasy when they come out of the oven. This is because of the peanut butter and the absence of flour holding it all together. Let cool for a few minutes and then transfer to a plate. I wouldn’t advise using a cooling rack since these babies are more crumbly than the average cookie.

I will warn you!! If you are expecting some sugary gum drop in your mouth, you’ll be disappointed. These cookies have less than 1g of sugar in each of them so they won’t taste like your grandmas cookies. However, I notice that the more I eliminate sugar from my diet, the more flavorful all foods become.

The consistency is dense and they are surprisingly filling! I brought a couple into work today after baking them last night and they are even better the next day after cooling and solidifying more. I realized while making these that I was EXCITED to eat cookies even though I knew they wouldn’t taste like the regular kind. It’s amazing how we crave the feeling of food sometimes more than the actual flavor.

Plus! These things are healthy! Only 65 calories per cookie and 3.2g of protein.

cleancookiesnutrition

What did you think!?

