Garbanzo Bean Brownies

Say whaaaaat! I’ve been on this quest in 2014 to find ways to make clean and healthier versions of foods I love. Sometimes for me it’s more about the texture of foods than anything else. And I will tell you that these have a very similar feel to regular brownies.

photo 4

I’ll be honest, they won’t taste like sugary brownies, but they will be healthy! My boyfriend made a face when he tried them and said “I DON’T LIKE IT!” like a 3 year old. So they aren’t for everyone. They taste a lot more like an oat bran bar.

Worst case scenario, if you don’t like them, you can keep the recipe for April Fools 😉

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbonzo beans, drained
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 quick oats (whole wheat)
  • 2 tbsp White Chocolate Wonderful (or nut butter of your choice)

I put all of the ingredients straight into my Ninja blender and blended until smooth.

photo 1

Pour into greased 8×8 pan. The mix will rise a little but not by much. It will be thick.

photo 2

Bake for around 20-25 minutes until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.

photo 3

You can also top them with some melted peanut butter for extra taste.  I may try altering the recipe in the future. You could use any type of beans really. I may experiment with black beans and using applesauce instead of honey. A lot of these bean brownie recipes call for chocolate chips but I didn’t have any and am trying to stay away from chocolate so I just used the cocoa.

Capture

2 thoughts on “Garbanzo Bean Brownies

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies | sarahdoesfitness

What did you think!?

