Black Bean Brownies

My baking experiments are often just that, mega experiments. Luckily I have fiancé who’s willing to try just about anything and a blog that allows me to showcase my trial and error experience. So thank YOU!

ohsnap

Last night I decided to give the whole bean brownie thing another go and these turned out WAY better than the garbanzo bean brownies I made a while back. This time I added in applesauce which made the texture a lot more soft and brownie-like. I also added in a tablespoon of REAL sugar. Ladies and gentleman, I’d always much rather use a little bit of real sugar for taste than ANY of that fake stuff.

Here’s the new recipe:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Spray a smaller baking dish with cooking spray. I typically use an 8×8 or in this case I used a random 10×6 I had lying around

In a food processor or bowl with an electric mixer combine:

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tablespoons pure honey
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 whole wheat oats (steel cut preferred but I used quick oats because it was what I had)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

beanbrownies

Mix ingredients until well blended. Batter will be thick and comparable to real brownie batter. Pour into baking dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool and then cut into 25-35 pieces. In this recipe I cut mine into 35 pieces so each one was bite size and only 25 calories.

Nutrition info below. Happy nomming!

1serving4servings

One thought on “Black Bean Brownies

What did you think!?

