Springtime Smoothie & Antioxidant Benefits

Spring is here and the colors are bright. Today after my workout I decided to whip up something with LOTS of berries. This smoothie is sweet, tangy, creamy, and ever so healthy! What a treat for lunch to enjoy outside in the sun 🙂

springtimesmooooooothie

I’m not sure what I love most about my recent smoothie kick. All the ingredients are plant-based and make me FEEL clear-headed and energized. The more whole foods I eat, the clearer my mentality and focus, the better my mood, I find myself just randomly smiling more often and feeling excited about the little day-to-day things in life. Eating healthy and clean really does make me feel better and then in turn I want to workout more and keep the process going.

This smoothie also contains 2 cups of berries which are full of antioxidants. I feel like we all hear that we should eat more foods rich in antioxidants but we often don’t know why and how they work. Well, I’ll tell you.

Antioxidants play a vital role in combating free radicals in your body by counteracting the oxidation process in your cells.  Did you know that antioxidants aren’t actually a substance but a behavior? Free radicals are unstable molecules that latch onto or give electrons to other atoms. When free radicals have their way, they can damage various cell structures which can lead to cancer, Alzheimer’s, and various other diseases we’re constantly trying to avoid and cure.

When we eat foods rich in antioxidants we’re helping keep our bodies healthy but this doesn’t mean that eating pounds of strawberries everyday will keep you save from cancer either. While all of these choice we make are important in maintaining a healthy lifestyle, feeling good and keeping energized, they are all just one piece in the giant puzzle of our health.

You can find a list of foods with high levels of antioxidant properties here. The importance of eating a balanced diet filled with fresh fruits, veggies, berries, etc also provides you fiber and tons of other nutrients! Ok so enough with the science talk. Let’s get to the recipe!

springtimesmoothie1

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or any milk of your choice)

Blend ingredients together and pour into you favorite glass or mug. I just happened to have a huge wine glass in front of me. I want to invest in some cute glass jars soon so I can take smoothies with me. I also topped it with a few of the frozen berries that are fun to chew. The consistency is super creamy thanks to the avocado. Just make sure to check your teeth for berry seeds before you head out the door!

springtimesmoothie2

The entire smoothie has around 350 calories and almost 20 grams of fiber!

recipe

One thought on “Springtime Smoothie & Antioxidant Benefits

What did you think!?

