Green Lime Smoothie

I recently liked the FoodBabe on Facebook and have loved getting all of her amazing, healthy, and toxic-free recipe in my news feed. The other day my husband told me about this smoothie using lime juice and cucumber – which I’ve never tried before. Let me put it this way – it’s outstanding and tasting how fresh it is and smelling all of the ingredients in the process instantly made my morning glow.

This recipe is from FoodBabe’s site under her Sunrise Green Smoothie. I altered it sightly by changing measurements and adding in chia seeds and ground flax meal.

I was worried that using cucumbers might make the smoothie consistency different – I’ll be honest, I’m worried anything will ruin my morning smoothie but it was quite the opposite. Using cucumber not only smells amazing and fresh but gave the smoothie a rounded taste that’s hard to describe.

cucumbers

 

I was also very intrigued to use fresh lime juice. I was also amazed at how much smaller organic limes are – about half the size – makes you wonder about all of those GMOs. The lime juice gives this smoothie a tangy kick that’s unique to anything else I’ve made before.

limes

 

Strawberries are one of my most favorite things, ever. They are beautiful, they taste like angel berries, and I can eat them every day if I want. They also make me feel super patriotic on the 4th of July 😉 Just one cup of strawberries has only 50 calories, 1g of protein (plants have protein, too!), Vitamin C, Vitamin A, folate, magnesium, and almost 4 grams of fiber!

strawberries

 

I’m big on making the every day things fun. It’s why I have cute ice cube trays like this one with stars. You can add a few ice cubes to this smoothie to add a little texture and to keep it cooler. Throw a few stars into your drink!

icecubestars

And now for the recipe. I also added in 2 TBSP of chia seeds and 2 TBSP of ground flax meal for extra fiber.

recipe

 

Tangy, sweet, refreshing, and vibrant – this smoothie will boost your day in more ways than one. Enjoy!

greenlimesmoothie

2 thoughts on “Green Lime Smoothie

What did you think!?

